Skip to content

$1 Million Berggruen Philosophy Prize: Call for Nominations

The Berggruen Philosophy Prize is an annual award of $1 million given to a living thinker whose ideas have deeply influenced society and our way of life.

The Berggruen Institute, an independent think tank based in Los Angeles California, has opened the call for nominations for the $1 million Berggruen Philosophy Prize.  The prize, which will be awarded at the end of the year, is intended as a life time achievement award for a modern day Socrates. 
Noting the absence of recognition for contributions to philosophy in a broad sense, Mr. Nicolas Berggruen, the Institute’s founder and Chairman, noted, "Ideas have had a greater impact on human history than anything else. We still live in a world that was shaped by Socrates, Confucius, Jesus Christ, Karl Marx and Buddha – to name a few. We wanted to create a prize that acknowledges their importance.”
The Berggruen institute is currently seeking nominations. Nominations are open to the public, including from active and former members and advisers to the Berggruen Institute, tenured professors from publicly recognized universities and members of credited journalists’ and writers’ associations. The deadline for nomination is May 31st 2016. 
The institute welcomes nomination from all languages, cultures and philosophical traditions. Click here to learn more about the prize and start your nomination. All nominators and nominees will be carefully vetted. The prize laureate will be announced in October 2016 and the inaugural award ceremony will take place on December 1st 2016 in New York City.


Prize Description:

The Berggruen Philosophy Prize is an annual award of $1 million given to a living thinker whose ideas have deeply influenced society and our way of life. The prize is intended to bring greater attention to the ideas that shape culture, inspire movements and catalyze ideological shifts. The legacy of great thinkers throughout history still permeates our way of life, from the Platonic ideal of a reason-based society and Confucian ideas about social order to the post-Reformation Era ideas of consciousness. Today, numerous prizes are rightly awarded for invention and achievement in science and the arts, but few prizes recognize ideas that have broader philosophical and cultural impact. The Berggruen Philosophy Prize will return attention to profound thinking with the recognition and support deserved for their globally significant contribution. Thinkers from all languages, religions and/or philosophical traditions are welcome.

A diverse, independent jury of leading thinkers will consider nominations and select the awardees. The deadline to nominate is May 31st, 2016. The inaugural prize will be awarded on December 1st, 2016 in New York City. 

1. Nomination Criteria

The Berggruen Prize Jury is responsible for selecting the Prize Laureates. Nominations for the Prize may be submitted by any person; however,  a nomination for yourself will not be considered valid.

2. Nomination Process

2.1 The nomination need not be lengthy, but should include:

• Information on the nominee
• Information on the nominator
• An explanation of why the individual is considered by the nominator to be a worthy candidate for the Prize

2.2 Nomination Method

Nominate here

2.3 Nomination Deadline

The Jury makes its selection on the basis of nominations received or postmarked no later than May 31st, 2016. Nominations which do not meet the deadline are normally included in the following year's assessment. 

2.4 Nomination Confirmation

An e-mail confirming the receipt of the submitted nomination will be sent shortly after you successfully submit your nomination.

3. Selection and Decision Making

The Jury seeks to achieve unanimity in its selection of the Prize Laureate. On the rare occasions when this proves impossible, the selection is decided by a simple majority vote.

Berggruen Philosophy Prize Jury

Kwame Anthony Appiah – Professor of Philosophy at New York University   
Leszek Borysiewicz 
– Vice-Chancellor of the University of Cambridge
Antonio Damasio 
 Director, Brain and Creativity Institute at the University of Southern California
Amy Gutmann – President of the University of Pennsylvania     
Amartya Sen 
– Nobel Laureate, Thomas W. Lamont University Professor, Professor of Economics and Philosophy at Harvard University
Alison Simmons 
– Samuel H. Wolcott Professor of Philosophy and Harvard College Professor at Harvard University
Michael Spence – Nobel Laureate, William R. Berkley Professor in Economics & Business at New York University, Philip H. Knight Professor Emeritus of Management in the Graduate School of Business at Stanford University
Wang Hui – Professor in the Department of Chinese Language and Literature and the Department of History at Tsinghua University, Director of the Tsinghua Institute for Advanced Study in Humanities and Social Sciences
George Yeo – Chancellor of Nalanda University and former Minister of Foreign Affairs, Singapore